Racism

Standard

I would like to give condolences to the innocent people who died because of this and their family members who are mourning. The first thing I think about this tragedy is Muslim, Iraqi, Syrian, and all those countries in the Middle East. After 9/11, some people would turn to the other people in the Middle East thinking all were terrorists. I am not from the Middle East but I have a stepfather who is and my two little sisters are half Muslim and Filipino. My stepdad had to leave his country to go to America because of war that broke out and it was too dangerous to stay in the area. My own mother is afraid that my little sisters are going to be criticized because of their religion and I am angry that some people can think that they can criticized someone who is poorer than them or what their country they used to or still live in. My mom was about to make my little sisters’ names more on the Muslim side but because of some people who think every Muslim has a bomb strapped to their chest, ready to explode. This doesn’t have to be all about terrorists, this “verbal” and/or “physical” abuse can really change a person, thinking they were looked at in disgust and that they were caught in a crossfire which they didn’t start. I not saying that there aren’t terrorist in the Middle East, but I’m not also saying that everyone there is one. I know for a fact that this will not be heard, but if everyone can stand together, hand by hand, getting past our differences this could be heard throughout the whole universe. Just a reminder, anyone around us can not as they seem. “It’s not given to people to judge what’s right or wrong. People have eternally been mistaken and will be mistaken, and in nothing more than in what they consider right and wrong.”

Leo Tolstoy, War and Peace.

One thought on “Racism

  1. sprenk2

    I was so moved by your sensitive and insightful response to the hard realities of our world now, especially the ugliness of racism for people of the muslim faith in our own country. Your little sisters have a strong role model in you as evidenced through your thought provoking words.

    Respectfully,
    Jill Sprenkel
    President, Board of Trustees
    Byron Union School District

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *